Pan-Seared Wild Salmon w/Spice Crust

I love easy, fuss-free and boneless fish. Of course, wild salmon being the most nutritious one is my number one choice.

Whenever i do not have too much time, it is my ‘dinner’ saver. I make an easy and fast-cooking Quinoa pilaf, salad, may be some sauteed veggies like asparagus and/or broccoli with garlic and pan-seared salmon w/spice crust. Voila! Dinner ready in 20-30 minutes.

I  put:

1 cup Quinoa (rinse well first)

2 tbs butter (you can always adjust the amount and  use olive oil)

salt to taste ( I use pink Himalayan salt)

2  cups water

 in the pan. Bring the water to boil and then simmer till all the water is gone. You can adjust water level according to how much soft you like your Quinoa. I like it soft. You also may want to stir the pilaf before all the water is absorbed, so that you can evenly distribute the salt and butter to the pilaf. Depending on your stove and Quinoa kind ( I use white), it takes about 15-20 minutes to cook.

While pilaf is cooking, I prepare my salad and  vegetables to cook at the last minute with salmon. I set the table.

When there is about 5-7 minutes left for the pilaf to be done, i start my fish and veggies.

I rinse the fish with cold water and pat dry. Than rub it with lemon juice and salt so it does not smell too much fishy :).WP_000496 I sprinkle the spices  on one  side since i usually get the one with skin on. Spices:

Black pepper (cover it all)

Cayenne (depends on how much spicy you like)

Turmeric (not too much)

Spanish paprika (optional)

So the fish is ready. I melt butter (sometimes coconut oil) in the pan, should be hot, then put the fish (skin side up, spiced side down) into the pan. And cook both sides. I like mine well-done. You ?

Meanwhile you will start your veggies. If I am using broccoli, I usually first put a little bit of water in pan and kind of steam cook it on high heat, no lid,  stirring frequently. When water is all gone, I add butter, minced garlic and small pieces of asparagus and finish them on high heat again.

Well, you have your salad on the table. You are serving pan-seared wild salmon with delicious and nutritious spice crust with a side of Quinoa pilaf and pan-seared veggies.

Enjoy your healthy, colorful and very easy & fast dinner!

P.s: I usually use non-stick pan. Don’t forget to use wooden tongs and make sure your pan is not scratched, it’s not healthy.

